Nutritionist and Dietitian Programs in Oregon
Becoming a licensed dietitian in the state of Oregon may not be as troublesome as you might have thought. This page can help you find tips on nutritionist and dietitian programs in Oregon and the state's licensure requirements, as well as salary and career outlook.
Campus-Based vs. Online Nutritionist Education in Oregon
Nutritionist schools in Oregon may require students to take subject-specific classes such as food science, nutrition, chemistry and anatomy, as well as courses in management and communication. Prerequisite requirements for the programs may include courses in the sciences and math, along with English.
Oregon Nutritionist Salary and Employment Outlook
As of May 2012, the Bureau of Labor Statistics reports that dietitians and nutritionists in Oregon experienced an employment rise of 6.4 percent (BLS.gov/oes, 2013). Also according to May 2012 data from the BLS, the annual mean wage in Oregon for dietitians and nutritionists was $60,270, with a mean hourly wage of $28.97 and 480 licensed dietitians employed in the state (BLS.gov/oes, 2013).
Oregon Nutritionist and Registered Dietitian Requirements
Oregon requires all dietitians to become licensed with the Oregon Board of Licensed Dietitians. More information, including education and training requirements for dietitians and nutritionists, can be found by visiting the board's How to Get Licensed page.
Dietitians can do much more than simply suggest vitamin supplements: They are professionals who may serve as health educators, providing valuable nutritional information to schools and businesses.
Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department of Labor, Occupational Outlook Handbook, 2012-13 Edition, Dietitians and Nutritionists, July 18, 2012,
Dietitians and Nutritionists, March 29, 2013, Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department of Labor, Occupational Employment and Wages, May 2012,
Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department of Labor, Occupational Employment Statistics, May 2012 State Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates: Oregon, March 29, 2013,
Commission on Dietetic Registration, Laws that Regulate Dietitians/Nutritionists,
Oregon.gov, Board of Licensed Dietitians, "How to Get Licensed,"