Nutritionist and Dietitian Programs in New Hampshire
The journey to become a licensed dietitian in New Hampshire may not be as daunting as you may have thought. This page can be useful for finding helpful tips on nutritionist and dietitian education programs or schools in New Hampshire, as well as salary and career outlook for these health science professionals. You can also find important information on how to become licensed as a dietitian in the state.
Campus-Based vs. Online Nutritionist Education in New Hampshire
Nutritionist schools in New Hampshire may require students to take subject-specific classes such as chemistry, fitness, physiology, and biology, as well as courses in management and communication. Prerequisite coursework for dietitian programs may include immersion in the sciences and math, as well as courses in English and writing.
An online nutrition degree program may provide greater accessibility to education over its campus-based counterparts, especially for remote students or those with family obligations, by allowing the students to take classes when their schedule allows. However, the most important aspect of either an online or campus-based program depends upon what type of student you are and what you want to gain from the program.
New Hampshire Nutritionist Salary and Employment Outlook
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, in May 2012, dietitians and nutritionists in New Hampshire experienced an employment growth of 9 percent and earned a national mean annual wage of $57,870 (BLS.gov/oes, 2013).
The BLS projects a 20 percent increase in the nationwide employment growth of nutritionists and dietitians between 2010 and 2020 (BLS.gov/ooh, 2012), attributing this growth to the increased awareness of the role diet and nutrition play in preventing heart disease and diabetes. Nursing homes especially are expected to experience a demand for nutritionists and dietitians, as the aging population can require special dietary needs.
New Hampshire Nutritionist and Registered Dietitian Requirements
The New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services requires dietitians employed in the state to be licensed. In addition to needing a license to practice, dietitians are also required meet 20 hours of continuing education to maintain their license. More information, including education and training requirements for dietitians, can be found on the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services page.
Nutritionists and dietitians can be much more to their community than purveyors of vitamin supplements. These health professionals can help manage the nutritional intake of sick patients and prescribe diet changes for those with food-related allergies or diseases. They can also serve as health educators, providing valuable nutritional information to schools and businesses. Whatever your path may be, it's likely that you can find a nutritionist school to fit your goals.
Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department of Labor, Occupational Outlook Handbook, 2012-13 Edition, Dietitians and Nutritionists, July 18, 2012, http://www.bls.gov/ooh/Healthcare/Dietitians-and-nutritionists.htm#tab-6
Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department of Labor, Occupational Employment Statistics, May 2012 State Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates, Dietitians and Nutritionists: New Hampshire, March 29, 2013, http://www.bls.gov/oes/current/oes_nh.htm
Commission on Dietetic Registration, Laws that Regulate Dietitians/Nutritionists, http://cdrnet.org/vault/2459/web/files/Licensurelawsregulations.pdf
New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services, Dietitian License Requirements, 2010, http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/oos/blc/dietitian/